Portable Web Server

I often need to show interactive visualization to clients. As the data in most case is confidential, I cannot put the visualization on a website with public access. Hence I need a USB drive which contains both the data and the web server.

A widely know portable web server is XAMPP. However, XAMPP contains a large number of files, syncing the folder with the desktop is often slow. Instead, I found Mongoose to be much easier to use. To run a web server, I only needs to copy the “mongoose.exe” file to the folder of my html files and double click the .exe file.

Another software I find useful for displaying visualization at a client’s computer is the portable Opera browser. It is an unfortunate fact that many offices still have only IE installed. I like Opera more than Firefox for visualization as Opera renders the HTML 5 “range” tag as a slider Firefox does not.

Leave a Reply

